You are here:

65th Annual
Communication Awards Banquet

ALERT: The Department of Communication has cancelled the 2020 Awards Banquet as we try to focus on the health and safety of all. We do not have information regarding a postponement or rescheduling but hope to honor awardees at a date in the future. Any purchase of tickets will be refunded as soon as possible. We appreciate your support and hope to gather with you to celebrate these accomplishments in the future.

-The Department of Communication.

Tuesday, April 14th, 2020   
6:00pm Reception  
6:30pm Banquet  

  Little America Hotel
  Main Ballroom
  500 S Main St, SLC

The Communication Awards Banquet honors students who have won awards or scholarships,
and new members of Kappa Tau Alpha, the national honor society for students in journalism and mass communication.
In addition, distinguished members of the community are also honored.


Already made a reservation? Purchase your banquet tickets here. 

Distinguished Service Award

Bruce S. Jenkins, United States Senior District Judge, District of Utah

Service to Journalism Award

Terry Orme, Former Editor, The Salt Lake Tribune

Alumni Achievement Awards

Carl L. Laurella, a 1982 alumnus who is Managing Director for Merrill Lynch Management in Salt Lake City
Silvana Effio, a 2012 alumna, journalist and former news director and anchor for Telemundo Utah

For questions regarding banquet reservations please contact Becky Rose at 801-581-6889 or

Last Updated: 3/16/20