Skip to content

John R. Park Debate Society Earns Top Honors

debate top honors

On October 25-26, 2013, the John R. Park Debate Society (the UofU's competitive speech and debate team housed in the Department of Communication) traveled to the Colorado College in Colorado Springs, CO. The team participated in both individual public speaking and interpretation of literature events, as well as parliamentary (team) debate.

With eleven students and three coaches in attendance, the U earned the most competitive success it has enjoyed at a single tournament since at least 1998. Notably, students won first place honors in 4 events, second place honors in two events, and earned seven additional top 6 (finalists) finishes. Additionally, Communication majors Maddie Dailey and Duncan Stewart were semifinalist in parliamentary debate securing the U's first, first-round bid to the National Parliamentary Tournament of Excellence (see photo).

In addition, the University placed first overall ahead of the University of Colorado-Boulder, Texas Tech University, the Colorado College, Rice University, and others. A listing of all awards earned is included below. Likewise, the team earned the top overall award for schools competing in individual speaking and interpretation events and the third overall award among schools competing in debate.

To learn more about the team, visit:

Summary of Awards

Overall Results (awarded to the team a whole):
1st place Overall Team Sweepstakes
1st place Individual Events Team Sweepstakes
3rd place Debate Team Sweepstakes

Individual Events/Public Speaking Awards
1st place Prose Interpretation-Nick Jensen
1st place Program Oral Interpretation-Barbara Ochoa
1st place Communication Analysis-Jesús Muñoz
1st place Poetry Interpretation-Barbara Ochoa
2nd place Duo Interpretation-Duncan Stewart & Nick Jensen
2nd place Persuasive Speaking-Barbara Ochoa
3rd place Program Oral Interpretation-Shaylee Tulane
4th place Poetry Interpretation-Anthony Cresto
5th place Prose Interpretation-Maddie Dailey
5th place Extemporaneous Speaking-Maddie Dailey
5th place Persuasive Speaking-Becca Isbell
6th place Informative Speaking-Connor Richards
6th place Impromptu Speaking-Ashley Hellebuick

Debate Awards
Semifinalists: Maddie Dailey & Duncan Stewart
Quarterfinalists: Becca Isbell & Nick Jensen
Octofinalists (Round of 16): Anthony Cresto & Shaylee Tulane
Octofinalists (Round of 16): Jesús Muñoz & Connor Richards
Octofinalists (Round of 16): Monica Amestoy & Ashley Hellebuick
4th place speaker: Nick Jensen
8th place speaker: Jesús Muñoz
9th place speaker: Duncan Stewart
10th place speaker: Maddie Dailey

Last Updated: 9/20/21