Skip to content

Main Navigation

The 2017 Communication Awards Banquet

 The 2017 Communication Awards Banquet was held on April 12, 2017 at the Little America Hotel Ballroom. The 62nd annual event honored students who have won awards or scholarships, and new members of Kappa Tau Alpha, the national honor society for students in journalism and mass communication.

The Department of Communication also presented five awards to distinguished members of the community. 
Our Distinguished Service Award went to Sim Gill, Salt Lake County District Attorney. Our Service to Journalism Award went to two honorees: Jennifer Napier-Pearce, editor of The Salt Lake Tribune; and Rick Spratling, former Deputy Director and Bureau Chief for the Associated Press.

Our Quintus C. Wilson Alumni Achievement Award went to two honorees: Dotti Brockbank, former Public Affairs Director for the Utah Department of Natural Resources; and Todd Paoletti, COO and General Manager of Cognizant Accelerator.

See all the photos below!




Last Updated: 9/20/21