Skip to content

Congratulations to Professor Jakob D. Jensen!

Assistant Professor Jakob D. Jensen received the Young Scholar Award from the International Communication Association (ICA). The award was presented at the 2013 ICA conference hosted last summer in London. Professor Jensen was nominated for the award by Professor Michael Slater from Ohio State University.

The award honors a scholar no more than seven years past receipt of the Ph.D. for a body of work that has contributed to knowledge of the field of communication and shows promise for continued development. The selection committee judges the contribution and promise of young scholars based on the strength of published work, including its conceptual foundation and argumentative clarity, on the scholar's productivity at a given career stage, on the rigor of the research produced so far, and on the promise of existing work serving as a springboard for continuing scholarship.

Past winners include:

2012 - Paul Leonardi, Northwestern U

2011 - Dmitri Williams, U of Southern California

2010 - Eszter Hargittai, Northwestern U

2009 - Jochen Peter, U of Amsterdam

2008 - Hee Sun Park, Michigan State U

2007 - Claes H. De Vreese, U of Amsterdam

2006 - Tamara D. Afifi, U of California - Santa Barbara

2005 - Amy Nathanson, Ohio State U

2004 - Dietram A. Scheufele, U of Wisconsin - Madison

2003 - William P. Eveland, Jr., Ohio State U

2002 - Francois Cooren, U de Montreal

2001 - Dale E. Brashers (Deceased), U of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign

Last Updated: 9/20/21