Skip to content

Main Navigation

John R. Park Debate Society Finishes Second

On September 27-29, 2013, the John R. Park Debate Society (the UofU’s competitive speech and debate team housed in the Department of Communication) traveled to the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs. The team participated in both the General H. “Pete” Todd Memorial Round Robin and the 51st Annual USAFA Classic forensics tournament. In addition, the University of Utah served as co-host for this prestigious tournament to kick off its competitive season.

With seven students and three coaches in attendance, the U earned the most competitive success it has enjoyed at a single tournament in over a decade. Notably, Communication majors Maddie Dailey and Duncan Stewart placed second in the round robin tournament, and Chemical Engineer major Nick Jensen and Communication major Monica Amestoy finished second in the USAFA Classic. In addition, the University placed second overall ahead of the University of Colorado-Boulder, Texas Tech University, the Colorado College, the University of Ljubljana (Slovenia), and others. A listing of all awards earned is included below.

The team finished hosting its fall public debate entitled, “Life Divided: The National Debate Over Immigration Reform,” and hosted over 600 high school students, coaches, and parents at its annual high school tournament, the Beehive Bonanza, on October 11-12, 2013. To learn more about either event, visit:

Summary of Awards earned at USAFA

1st Place – Prose Interpretation – Madeline Dailey

1st Place – Impromptu Speaking – Duncan Stewart

1st Place – Programmed Oral Interpretation – Barbara Ochoa

2nd Place – Parliamentary Debate Round Robin – Duncan Stewart & Maddie Dailey

2nd Place Speaker – Parliamentary Debate – Madeline Dailey

2nd Place – Prose Interpretation – Nick Jensen

2nd Place – Communication Analysis – Monica Amestoy

2nd Place – Persuasive Speaking – Barbara Ochoa

2nd Place – Parliamentary Debate – Nick Jensen & Monica Amestoy

3rd Place – Poetry Interpretation – Barbara Ochoa

3rd Place – Duo Interpretation – Nick Jensen & Duncan Stewart

4th Place – Programmed Oral Interpretation – Shaylee Tulane

5th Place Speaker – Parliamentary Debate – Duncan Stewart

6th Place – Extemporaneous Speaking – Madeline Dailey

7th Place Speaker – Parliamentary Debate – Nick Jensen

Quarterfinalist – Parliamentary Debate – Duncan Stewart & Madeline Dailey

Octafinalist (Round of 16) – Parliamentary Debate – Shaylee Tulane & Anthony Cresto.

Last Updated: 9/20/21