Skip to content

Main Navigation

Two Faculty Members Receive Professional Association Teaching Awards

Two Department of Communication faculty have been recognized for outstanding teaching by two national communication associations.

Associate Professor Kimberley Mangun has been honored by the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC). She is one of five winners of the inaugural competition for the Transformative Teaching of Media and Journalism History award. The competition featured original and tested transformative teaching ideas and practices that address pedagogies of diversity, collaboration, community, and/or justice.

Dr. Mangun will present her ideas and be honored with the award on August 10 at the 2019 AEJMC Conference in Toronto, Canada.

Associate Professor David Vergobbi is the winner of this year’s American Journalism Historians Association (AJHA) Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award honors a faculty member who excels at teaching in the areas of journalism and mass communication history, makes a positive impact on student learning, and offers an outstanding example for other educators.

Dr. Vergobbi will be honored on October 3 at the 2019 AJHA Annual Convention in Dallas, Texas.

Last Updated: 9/20/21