Skip to content

Main Navigation

2020 Communication Awards Banquet - CANCELLED

ALERT: The Department of Communication has cancelled the 2020 Awards Banquet as we try to focus on the health and safety of all. We do not have information regarding a postponement or rescheduling but hope to honor awardees at a date in the future. Any purchase of tickets will be refunded as soon as possible. We appreciate your support and hope to gather with you to celebrate these accomplishments in the future.

-The Department of Communication.

The Department of Communication's 65th annual Awards Banquet will be held at the Little America Hotel on Tuesday, April 14, 2020 at 6 p.m. The reception and ceremony will honor distinguished community award winners as well as student scholarship recipients. 

The event starts with a reception at 6 p.m. in the Little America Ballroom Foyer, followed by the banquet at 6:30 p.m. in the Main Ballroom of the Little America Hotel at 500 S. Main in Salt Lake City. All are invited to attend, but RSVPs are required.


  • Scholarship recipients and KTA inductees receive a complimentary ticket to the awards banquet.
    Additional tickets may be purchased for guests at $40.
  • $60 for professionals
  • To sponsor a table, which seats up to 8 and benefits student scholarships, make a donation of $750 here and write "awards banquet table" in the special instructions. (Contact Jill Lamping at or (801) 585-5781 for help with this or to request an invoice.) 

Here are the awardees for this year's (65th) Annual Communication Awards Banquet:

Distinguished Service Award

Bruce S. Jenkins, United States Senior District Judge, District of Utah

Service to Journalism Award

Terry Orme, Former Editor, The Salt Lake Tribune

Alumni Achievement Awards

Carl L. Laurella, a 1982 alumnus who is Managing Director for Merrill Lynch Management in Salt Lake City
Silvana Effio, a 2012 alumna, journalist and former news director and anchor for Telemundo Utah

The Communication Awards Banquet also honors students who have won awards or scholarships, and recognizes new members of Kappa Tau Alpha, the national honor society for students in journalism and mass communication.

We hope you will join us to celebrate these fantastic community award winners, distinguished alums and high-achieving students!

RSVP online here and purchase tickets here or call Becky Rose at 801-581-6889.


Last Updated: 9/20/21