Skip to content

Main Navigation

2016 Communication Awards Banquet To Be Held April 5

The Department of Communication's annual Awards Banquet will be held at the Little America Hotel on Tuesday, April 5, 2016 at 6 p.m. The reception and ceremony will honor six distinguished community award winners as well as student scholarship recipients. 

comm dept sealThe event starts with a reception at 6 p.m. in the Ballroom Foyer, followed by the banquet at 6:30 p.m. in the Main Ballroom of the Little America Hotel at 500 S. Main in Salt Lake City. All are invited to attend, but RSVPs are required. RSVP online and purchase tickets here or call Stephanie Krusell at 801-581-5825. Students can attend for $35 and professionals can attend for $60. To sponsor a table, which seats up to 10 and benefits student scholarships, purchase here

The 61st annual event will feature the presentation of three major community awards:

The Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes significant contributions to the state and the Intermountain West, will be awarded to former SLC Mayor and Utah State Representative Ralph Becker and Kate Kopischke, professional mediator and dispute resolution specialist.

The Service to Journalism Award will recognize recently retired longtime managing editor of the Deseret News, Rick Hall, who is an alum of the department.

Three Alumni Achievement Awards will be presented to:

Tatiana Kireiev Miller, operations manager of Mark Miller Subaru

Michael Waterman, senior director of communication at CHG Healthcare

Karen Hale, former state senator, SLC director of communication and director of community relations 

The Communication Awards Banquet also honors students who have won awards or scholarships, and will be awarding a record amount in scholarships. The event will also recognize new members of Kappa Tau Alpha, the national honor society for students in journalism and mass communication. See photos from the 2015 banquet here

We hope you will join us to celebrate these fantastic community award winners, distinguished alums and high-achieving students! Purchase tickets online here

Last Updated: 9/20/21